About Marfa Public Radio

Marfa Public Radio is an award-winning, non-profit, listener-supported radio station serving far West Texas. We broadcast to Marfa and Fort Davis at 93.5 FM, Alpine at 91.7 FM, Marathon at 91.5 FM, and to Midland-Odessa at 91.3 FM.

Since 2011, Marfa Public Radio has won multiple notable awards. In 2017, the station won 9 Regional Murrow awards, (the most of any small station in the country) and 3 PRNDI awards.

Public Radio For Far West Texas
Our mission is to be a lifeline for our community, to unify and promote cultural enrichment through presentation and focus on the importance of art, education, science, quality of life and the local economy.

Click here to view some press coverage about KRTS.

KRTS Board Members
Al Davis, President
Royce Mitchell, Treasurer
Ginger Griffice, Secretary
Bill Dingus
Chris Douridas
Lee Anna Good
Cory Van Dyke
Liz Rogers
Barbara Fountain Love
Steph Steele
Woody Leverett

Emeritus Board Member
Joe Duran

KRTS Staff
Elise Pepple – General Manager  elise@marfapublicradio.org
Lisa Kettyle – Office Manager  lisa@marfapublicradio.org
Ian Lewis – Operations Director ian@marfapublicradio.org
Carlos Morales – Morning Edition Host/Reporter   carlos@marfapublicradio.org
Diana Nguyen – Producer/Reporter   diana@marfapublicradio.org
Jackson Wisdorf – All Things Considered Host   jackson@marfapublicradio.org
Sally Beauvais – Reporter and Producer   Sally@marfapublicradio.org

Click here for full contact info or to send us a message.

Marfa Public Radio is not currently accepting applications for the internship program.

Code of Ethics
Marfa Public Radio supports the values represented by the Public Media Code of Integrity. It is a family-friendly organization that offers healthcare benefits to its employees and an environmentally-conscious workspace that encourages recycling.

Code of Diversity
Marfa Public Radio knows that a diverse workforce, management team, governing body, and Community Advisory Board contribute greatly to our knowledge and understanding of the diverse communities in West Texas, and to our ability to deliver content and services that will help us attract, grow and engage audiences and help them to achieve their full potential. We endeavor to recruit from a broad pool of candidates enabling us to hire and promote qualified candidates with a variety of cultural and ethnic backgrounds, personal experiences and characteristics, and talents that reasonably reflect the diverse needs and interests of the communities served by KRTS and its repeaters.

Marfa Public Radio will continue to explore new opportunities for achieving and promoting this diversity and to monitor and evaluate our success. Marfa Public Radio meets the standards of federal and state law, our Equal Employment Opportunity policy, and the Corporation for Public Broadcasting’s Diversity Eligibility Criteria.

Local Content
Marfa Public Radio broadcasts public service announcements, with a specific, formal component designed to be of special service to the educational communities, to minority communities, and to diverse audiences. We broadcast community activities information and host community events that serve these communities in West Texas. We also partner with area schools and community non-profits.

The radio network was founded in 2005; continuous broadcasting began in Fall 2007. One of the key points of local service is the News Department and the weekly talk show, West Texas Talk, produced by Diana Nguyen

KRTS Advisory Board Members
Dennis McEntire
Karen Bernstein
Neil Chavigny
Patricia Golden
Tom Alex
Lynda McKnight
Carol Peterson

KRTS Volunteers
Dallas Baxter, David Beebe, Julie Bernal, David Branch, Michael Camacho, Gabriela Carballo, Primo Carrasco, Dan Chamberlin, Laurel Coniglio, Carol Fairlie, Chloe Gallagher, Tim Johnson, Maiya Keck, Roseland Klein, Dave Leonnig, Billy Marginot, Joni Marginot, Joe Nick Patoski, Natalie Melendez, Rachel Monroe, Ryan Paradiso, Zeke Raney, Chris Ruggia, JP Schwartz, Dan Shiman, Drew Stuart, Lonn Taylor.

Company Reports
These are the organization’s most current audited financial statements: MPR Audit FY 2017. Here is our latest EEO document: EEO_Report_2015-16. Here are our latest reports for CPB:  MPR FY 2017 Form 990 and KXWT AFR 2015. These are the MPR Board Minutes for 2017: Q1, Q2, Q3, and Q4.  2018 Board Minutes to date. The next meeting of the Board of Directors are slated for Saturday, January 19, 2019.
For information on other reports, please contact the station at 432-729-4578.

The marfapublicradio.org web site was designed and built by Vast Graphics (Alpine, TX) using some identity materials originally created by Milkshake Media (Austin, TX).